Nunn for Congress Announces County Chairs

CONTACT: Lydia Hall,

Nunn for Congress Announces County Chairs
Iowans from all 21 counties in IA-03 will serve as grassroots leaders for Team Nunn

DES MOINES – State senator Zach Nunn, the Republican nominee for Iowa’s 3rd congressional district and U.S. Air Force combat veteran, announced today the campaign’s list of county chairs. Team Nunn successfully recruited a county chair for each of the 21 counties of IA-03 to serve as leaders in crucial grassroots operations and activist engagement in their efforts to defeat liberal Cindy Axne in November.

“In Ottumwa and rural Wapello County, we sometimes get forgotten about – everyone I’ve spoken to here is worried about getting lumped into IA-03 and having no voice. We don’t want Cindy Axne representing us in Congress, she only cares about Des Moines and her big donors in California,” said Trudy Caviness, Team Nunn Chair, Wapello County. “We want someone in Congress who will start fixing the issues that face Ottumwa and every other Iowa town – lowering taxes, fixing inflation, helping fill jobs and defending our constitutional freedoms before it’s too late. That’s why I’m committed to getting Zach Nunn elected to Congress. He’s an upstanding citizen active in his church and community, a father of 6, a combat veteran and a state leader who’s already delivered results.”

The full list of Team Nunn’s County Chairs is below:

Adair County – Ryan Fredrick
Adams County – Ray Gaesser
Appanoose County – Elva Turnquist
Cass County – Bob Camblin
Clarke County – Jack Vanderflught
Dallas County – Kelley Koch
Davis County – Dan Ashby
Decatur County – Sam Wengryn
Greene County – Elvin Thompson
Guthrie County – Paul Hawkins
Lucas County – Earl Comstock
Madison County – Katy Downes
Monroe County – Roger George
Montgomery County – Margaret Stoldorf
Page County – Larry Shum
Polk County – Will Rogers & Gloria Mazza
Ringgold County – Tracee Knapp
Taylor County – Devon Wood
Union County – Laura Hartman
Wapello County – Trudy Caviness & Corwin Williams
Wayne County – Clint Carpenter

More about Zach Nunn:

Zach Nunn is a veteran, state senator, father, husband and Iowan. As a combat veteran, Zach served our country as an airborne intelligence officer in the United States Air Force. After 9/11, he deployed three times to the Middle East and flew over 700 combat hours.

Following his military service, Zach was elected to the Iowa House of Representatives and later the Iowa Senate. Nunn has ousted Democratic incumbents twice, including in 2018, when his campaign flipped a decades-long Democrat-held seat by 12%, in Polk County (IA-03). He also overperformed Governor Reynolds by 3%, overperformed David Young by 4% and has a proven ability to win the Polk County suburbs. Zach was recently named to the National Republican Congressional Committee’s (NRCC) Young Guns program, which determines the top U.S. House recruits nationally.

Zach and his family are sixth generation Iowans – a family of teachers, nurses, and farmers built on a century of hard work on the land. Zach has chosen to continue living in Iowa and is a father to four school-aged children and a husband to Kelly.